British Jonny Edgar is the new champion of the FIA ​​ADAC F4 Championship powered by Abarth

  • The German Formula 4 championship was very hard fought, decided only in the last race with Edgar as champion with just 2 points ahead of American Jack Crawford
  • Rally also during the weekend: in the Rally of Hungary, valid for the FIA ​​ERC European Championship, third seasonal success of the young Italian Andrea Mabellini in the Abarth Rally Cup

Exciting season finale in the FIA ​​ADAC F4 Championship powered by Abarth. On the German circuit of Oschersleben, the British Jonny Edgar won the title disputed until the last race with the American Jak Crawford, with a gap of only 2 points. Both drivers raced in the colors of the Van Amersfoort Racing Team.

Edgar arrived at the last appointment with a 23-point advantage over Crawford, but in Race 1 the positions were already reversed. Edgar finished race 1 out of the points zone after a puncture caused by a contact with Crawford himself, who instead won, overturning the standings, and taking the championship lead with a 2-point advantage over his rival.

Race 2 again in favor of Crawford who was able to beat Edgar after a very long duel and for just 115 thousandths of a second.

The third and final race was decisive, in which the two contenders for the title started in the fourth row, the fastest was Edgar, who was able to immediately gain three positions, then continuing in the comeback up to second place, also taking some risks in overtaking. Crawford, on the other hand, was only sixth, and lost the title by 2 lengths. Winner of Race 3 the German Tim Tramniz (US Racing), first in the classification of the German championship reserved for rookies.

This season Edgar, who was born on 13 February 2004 and lives in Cumbria in Great Britain, has won 6 of the 21 races of the German Championship.

Jonny Edgar: “I am very happy to have won the title, but the last race was very tiring. I drove the championship from day one until yesterday’s race. The gap with Jak Crawford was very small, to win I had to overcome several riders and increase the distance from him. It wasn’t that easy. Although we all had to take into account the tire degradation, I was able to keep a higher pace than most of the others, so I was able to conquer the necessary positions to take the title ”.


Weekend also in the Rally

In the Rally of Hungary, fourth round of the FIA ​​ERC European Championship, the young Italian Andrea Mabellini, with Nicolò Gonella, on Abarth 124 rally of the Napoca Rally Team, won the Abarth Rally Cup classification.

Mabellini took the victory after a comeback that took him from fourth place among the Abarth 124 rallies to the final success. In the short special stage show on Friday evening Mabellini suffered a delay of 5 ‘, which he then reassembled in the following two days, thanks to his excellent performances in the very difficult special stages. The route proved extremely difficult, with almost impossible grip conditions, due to the much mud present on the track. The difficult conditions of the Hungarian roads led the young Romanian Mureșan Mihnea into error first, with Alina Pop, with the Abarth 124 of the Bernini Rally Team, who went off the road while he was in the lead. Then the same fate befell the Italian Roberto Gobbin with Alessandro Cervi (Winners Rally Team). At the end,

This further success, the third of the season, allows Mabellini to place a serious risk on winning the title, when two races are missing: the Rally Islas Canaria in Spain (26-28 November) and the Spa Rally in Belgium (11-13 December).

Andrea Mabellini (Napoca Rally Team): “I want to thank the team who worked hard to allow me to restart on Saturday morning after the suspension problem on Friday evening. And thanks also to my new navigator, Nicolò Gonella, great job. It was a very difficult rally, with really complicated conditions, but I’m happy because I was able to go very fast and I also learned a lot ”.

FIA ADAC F4 Championship powered by Abarth standings: 1. Jonny Edgar (GBR, Van Amersfoort Racing) 300; 2. Jak Crawford (USA, Van Amersfoort Racing) 298; 3. Elias Seppänen (FIN, US Racing) 257.

Abarth Rally Cup classification: 1. Andrea Mabellini (ITA, Napoca Rally Team) 75; 2. Martin Rada (CZE, Agrotec Team) 43; 3. Roberto Gobbin (ITA, Winners Rally Team) 36.

User Login

Reset password or Register


Contact us

Be part of Enzari

Sign up to our newsletter and receive your free copy of the “A brief history of Italian cars”