Ferrari Crews set for 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps challenge

GT World Challenge Europe – Six Ferraris with ambitions to win at the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

The countdown has begun for the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, valid as the fourth round of the Endurance Cup of the GT World Challenge Europe and third of the Intercontinental GT Challenge which will see six Ferraris at the start.

After the record numbers of last season, even the great classic of the Ardennes has been forced to a shift in the calendar that will force the 58 crews to deal with many hours of darkness more than the traditional editions. The weather, however unpredictable along the more than 7 kilometers of the track, could be mild, with forecasts aimed at avoiding the risk of rain for Saturday and Sunday, while temperatures could be cold especially at night.

Pro.  Among the 28 crews entered in the Pro category, three will be at the start at the wheel of the 2020 488 GT3 Evo with the aim of reviving their successes on a track that saw the Prancing Horse triumph for the last time in 2004. On car number 51 of AF Corse will alternate between James Calado, poleman in 2017, Alessandro Pier Guidi, two-time winner in the Pro-Am class, and Nicklas Nielsen. On the number 72 deployed by SMP Racing, Davide Rigon, poleman in 2019, Miguel Molina and Sergey Sirotkin, will return to his first participation in this classic. The third Ferrari at the start is HubAuto’s 488 GT3 Evo 2020 which offers a respectable line-up made up of Kamui Kobayashi, Marcos Gomes and Tom Blomqvist, winner here in 2018.

Pro-Am. In a class that is historically a guarantee of battles and spectacle, Ferraris can count on competitive crews capable of aiming for important placings. AF Corse, entrusted as usual to Louis Machiels, Andrea Bertolini and Niek Hommerson, winners of this race on two occasions, will be able to count on the contribution of Daniel Serra. After the success in 2019 in the Am class, Rinaldi Racing aims to play a leading role among the Pro-Ams, alongside the South African David Perel, winner in 2018, to the trio that usually faces the Endurance Cup, Pierre Ehret, Rino Mastronardi and Daniel Keilwitz. A similar objective for the 488 GT3 Evo 2020 of Sky Tempesta Racing that lines Giancarlo Fisichella, Jonathan Hui and the new Sprint Cup champions for the Pro-Am class, Eddie Cheever III and Chris Froggatt.

Program.  Having skipped the traditional parade that carried the protagonists of the race from the center of Spa to the circuit, the cars will take to the track on Thursday for the first free practice sessions and the four qualifying sessions from 18:55 to 20:16. Superpole will take place on Friday, from 6:20 pm to 6:50 pm, while on Saturday, at 3:30 pm the 24-hour race will start and will end at 2:30 pm on Sunday since, on the night of October 25, the winter time.

User Login

Reset password or Register


Contact us

Be part of Enzari

Sign up to our newsletter and receive your free copy of the “A brief history of Italian cars”