Ferrari At The Races – Season Review 2018

Ferrari Challenge

A look back at some of the race events Ferrari competed in during 2018

Nurburgring 24H

Ferrari Nurburgring 24HFerrari of Team Monschau best in Pro-Am class

The 488 GT3 of Wochenspiegel Team Monschau, assisted by Rinaldi Racing, was the only Ferrari entered in the Nürburgring 24 Hours, completed the race and won the Pro-Am class. As always, the 23 km of the German track presented a series of hazards. In truth, the 2018 race lasted less than 24 hours due to severe bad weather.

Interruption. Having started in good conditions, a real storm hit the track in the early hours of the morning, putting many drivers in difficulty. After it blew over, the air temperature started to rise again with the water soon evaporating and turning to fog. Proceedings only resumed a few hours later.

Restart. In the end, the Ferrari of George Weiss, Jochen Krumbach, Oliver Kainz and Christian Menzel pulled off a grand finale to finish eighth overall. They were also the best car with a crew in the Pro-Am class.

Blancpain GT Asia

Nick Foster and HubAuto Corsa close to the title

Ferrari Blancpain GT AsiaThe two Ferrari customer teams in the Blancpain GT Asia championship enjoyed a good season, with both winning at least one race in their respective categories.

HubAuto Corsa. HubAuto Corsa deployed two 488 GT3s including Nick Foster’s no. 27, which was always up among the leaders. The Australian driver finished second having been in the running down to the final race. After starting the season with a second place at Buriram paired with Leo Ye Hongli, the Brisbane based driver teamed up with the experienced Jono Lester. The new pair scored a second place at Fuji and two victories at Shanghai and Ningbo, to put them in the mix for a great finish to the season. 

ARN Racing. The team was placed fifth in the standings while ARN Racing, which deployed its 488 GT3 in Pro-Am and Am classes, won at Suzuka in this category with Shinji Takei and Hideki Nagai.

Pro-Am class. Morris Chen’s creditable eighth place in the Pro-Am class is worth a mention: he finished second at Fuji together with Davide Rigon, and third at Suzuka and Ningbo, along with Tim Slade.

FIA GT Nations Cup

Two Ferrari crews on the podium at Sakhir

Ferrari FIA GT Nations CupThe Ferrari 488 GT3 cars were key players in the first edition of the FIA GT Nations Cup reserved for GT3 vehicles and Silver and Bronze drivers. There were no less than nine cars from Maranello at the start and two of them managed to finish on the podium in the Main Race that decided the title. In fact, behind the Turkish crew that won the race, the Team Uk and Danish team’s cars finished, both managed by AF Corse.

Main Race. The Main Race, held under the artificial lighting of the Sakhir track, had a start that was chaotic to say the least with four cars ending up out of the race. This left Turkey’s Mercedes, the Team Uk Ferrari, the Russian one and the Danish 488 GT3 in the lead with the latter capable of a great start from tenth on the grid. In the final part of the race Turkey pulled away in front of Team Uk’s and Denmark’s Ferraris. The Russian 488 GT3 finished fourth and the Italian one sixth.

Challenge North America

Five new stars in America’s motorsport sky

Ferrari Challenge NA-Daytona Challenge2018 saw the Ferrari Challenge North America celebrate its quarter century. The 25th season of the one-make series held in Canada and the United States, was marked as always by thrills and spectacle with heated duels and an array of drivers winning podium places.

Trofeo Pirelli. The Trofeo Pirelli season saw a duel from first to last between reigning champion Peter Ludwig (Wide World Ferrari) and last year’s third placed driver, Cooper MacNeil (Scuderia Corsa-Ferrari of Beverly Hills). At Daytona, MacNeil won Race-1 ahead of Ludwig, but the positions were reversed the following day. At COTA, the Scuderia Corsa-Ferrari of Silicon Valley driver beat Ludwig (Wide World Ferrari) in Race-1, while they both did poorly on Sunday. MacNeil’s victory on Saturday was counterbalanced by Ludwig’s subdued performance, but in Race-2 the Wide World Ferrari driver won while his rival went away empty-handed. This scenario repeated at Montreal and Watkins Glen while MacNeil took 32 points at Road Atlanta against Ludwig’s 34. At Monza, MacNeil wrapped it up in Race-1 winning his first Ferrari Challenge title.

Trofeo Pirelli Am. The Trofeo Pirelli Am was so hard-fought that four drivers arrived at the final round of Monza still in with a chance of the title. Rob Hodes of Scuderia CAVA-Ferrari of Washington, had long been at the top of the standings, with only two victories, Race-2 at both Daytona and COTA, but with five further podiums and four fourth places. Ross Chouest, on the other hand, suffered two mediocre weekends at Daytona and Laguna Seca but emerged in the second half of the year to bag three of the last four races at Watkins Glen and Road Atlanta where he did the double. In the final round, he won Race-1 so only needed a third place the next day to clinch the title.

Coppa Shell. Thomas Tippl, on the contrary, was the dominator in the Coppa Shell. The Scuderia Corsa-Ferrari of Beverly Hills driver was promoted to the Coppa Shell Am after the first race of the season and then literally dominated the scene, leaving just one win to Brian Kaminskey, Geoff Palermo and Mark Fuller, who finished in second place. Chris Carel came third in the championship standings.

Coppa Shell Am. Coppa Shell Am was clinched by rookie John Megrue (Ferrari of Long Island) winning seven races out of 14 at Daytona, Laguna Seca, Road Atlanta and Monza, in Race-1, with which he sealed the title. Kevan Millstein (Scuderia CAVA-Ferrari of San Diego) placed second, while Dale Katechis of Miller Motorcars finished third.

Trofeo Pirelli 458 Challenge EVO. The Trofeo Pirelli 458 Challenge EVO title for the cars that took part to the Trofeo Pirelli from 2011 to 2017, was only held in North America and had been reduced to just four rounds. Martin Burrowes of Ferrari of Ft. Lauderdale dominated with five wins out of eight races. The other three went to John Farano (Ferrari of Ontario), James Walker (Ferrari of Houston) and Trevor Baek (Ron Tonkin Gran Turismo), the latter second and third in the championship.

User Login

Reset password or Register


    Contact us

      Be part of Enzari

      Sign up to our newsletter and receive your free copy of the “A brief history of Italian cars”