Lamborghini Awards World Titles

Super Trofeo: all titles awarded at Vallelunga before the World Final

Six races and over 60 Huracáns on the track: these were just some of the figures that characterized the final round of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo 2018, during which all the titles of the three series – Europe, Asia and North America – were assigned. The last event of the season for the cars of the House of Sant’Agata Bolognese, which took place today at Vallelunga, offered a great show and was a preview of the World Final, which will kick off tomorrow on the Roman track and will again see all the main protagonists of the continental championships in action.
It was the last race of the sixth and final round to award three of the Drivers’ titles of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe. After a raging finish, Giacomo Altoè (Antonelli Motorsport) won in the PRO class. The driver, already Italian Gran Turismo champion with a car of the House of Sant’Agata Bolognese, scored his fourth victory of the year with Daniel Zampieri in Race 1, after taking the pole in the first qualifying session on Thursday. Vito Postiglione and Karol Basz, who arrived on the Roman track as the leaders of the standings and a 10-point advantage, had instead poor luck. A drive-thru due to a contact in Race 1 and then the withdrawal in Race 2 definitely compromised the success of the Imperiale Racing crew. The last victory was instead scored by Niels Lagrange and Fredrik Schandorff (Leipert Motorsport), who finished second overall and first in their class in Race 2.
In the PRO-AM class, Juan Perez and Loris Spinelli took a “double” title. After winning the North American series, in which they closed the games at the penultimate round at Laguna Seca, the two P1 Motorsport drivers also triumphed in the European championship. The two Vallelunga races were won by the Iron Lynx crew formed by Emanuele Zonzini and Lorenzo Bontempelli (who kept fighting for the leadership in the standings until the very last moment) and the duo of Artline Team Georgia composed by Shota Abkhazava and Sergei Afanasiev, who scored their first overall victory in Race 2.
The AM title was won by the Germans Manuel Lauck and Florian Scholze (Dörr Motorsport), who scored a one-two that enabled them to climb to the top of the standings ahead of Andrej Lewandowski (VS Racing), who had a 24-point advantage before this final round. In the Lamborghini Cup, Gerard Van der Horst (Van der Horst Motorsport) was crowned champion for the third year in a row. The Dutchman had mathematically taken the title at the end of Race 1, when he finished second behind the French driver of AGS Events, Joseph Collado. The last highlight in the same class was offered by Van der Horst, who took his fourth win of the season in Race 2 and finished ahead of his teammate William Van Deyzen.
In the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia, Andrea Amici and Artur Janosz secured the PRO class title. A success that the duo of FFF Racing Team by ACM had mathematically achieved at the end of Race 1, when they made an extraordinary recovery from the back, where they had dropped as they had not taken part in qualifying, due to an off-track in Thursday’s free practice.
This comeback allowed Amici to move up five positions and the Polish driver then finished third, behind his teammates James Pull and Jack Bartholomew. Kei Cozzolino and Afiq Yazid (Clazzio Racing) instead gave an “encore” with another victory in Race 2.
By achieving a class victory (the fifth for them this year) and then finishing third in Race 2, the Finns of the Leipert Motorsport team, Mikko Eskelinen and Juuso Puhakka, won in the PRO-AM category by just two points over Akihiro Asai and Evan Chen. In the AM class, the victory was taken by the Thai Suttiluck Buncharoen, who did not take part in this round. Lastly, the Lamborghini Cup title went to Paul Wong (852 Challengers).
With the PRO-AM and Lamborghini Cup titles already awarded in advance respectively to Perez-Spinelli and the US RaceTronics crew formed by Parris Mullins and Mark Proto, the final “rush” was thrilling and saw Corey Lewis and Madison Snow (the latter is 2018 IMSA GTD champion with a Lamborghini) win in the PRO class with Change Racing-Lamborghini Charlotte, by scoring a victory in Race 2 and sharing their successes with Jonathan Cecotto and Trent Hindman, who won Race 2 with Wayne Taylor Racing. Edoardo Piscopo and Taylor Proto, instead, finished second in the championship and twice second in the two Vallelunga races with US Race Tronics-Lamborghini Beverly Hills.
A win, a third place and a pole position allowed Ryan Hardwick (Dream Racing Motorsport-Lamborghini Atlanta) to score four points in the AM class against the multi-titled Damon Ockey, who got a second place and the victory in Race 2 with the car of US RaceTronics-Lamborghini Calgary.

User Login

Reset password or Register


    Contact us

      Be part of Enzari

      Sign up to our newsletter and receive your free copy of the “A brief history of Italian cars”